Listen Live
WOL Featured Video


Djibouti is pronounced juh·boo·tee” and is one of the 10 countries located in East Africa. Djibouti means “boiling pot” in the Afar language based off its dry and hot weather all year. This country gained its independence on June 27, 1977 from France. Continue reading below to learn more about the beautiful African country, Djibouti.

Republic of Djibouti African Country Flag

Source: bortonia / Getty

Where is Djibouti located?

Djibouti is located in East Africa bordered by Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia.

World Data Locator Map, Djibouti

Source: Encyclopaedia Britannica / Getty


Facts About Djibouti:

  1. Capital: Djibouti
  2. Population: 1 Million
  3. Nationality: Djiboutian


What Are The Official Languages of Djibouti?

Arabic and French are the official languages of Djibouti but Somali is the most widely spoken language despite it not being taught in schools.

Take Us Everywhere You Go! Click Here To Download Our App 📲


What Is The Currency of Djibouti?

Djiboutian franc (DJF) is the currency used in Djibouti.

$1 = 178.95

$20 = 3578.93

$60 = 10736.78

Djiboutian franc, a background

Source: johan10 / Getty

Get Breaking News & Exclusive Contest in Your Inbox:  


What Are The Religions of Djibouti?

In Djibouti the 2 main religions practiced are; Islam (94%) and Christianity (6%).

Tourist Attractions

Places to visit in Djibouti:

I hope this information has given you more insight into Djibouti but there is so much more to learn! Visit their tourism website here to see more.

Also be sure to checkout articles on each of the 54 countries in Africa by clicking here: Countries of Africa