Listen Live
WOL Featured Video


Equatorial Guinea is pronounced eh·kwuh·taw·ree·uhl gi·nee” and is one of the 9 countries located in Central Africa. Equatorial Guinea was formally the Spanish Guinea. This country is along the Gulf of Guinea in the Guinea region of West Africa and lies right above the Equator, which is what “equatorial” refers to. This country gained its independence on October 12, 1968 from Spain. Equatorial Guinea is the only African country with Spanish as its official language. Continue reading below to learn more about the beautiful African country, Equatorial Guinea.

Equatorial Guinea African Country Flag

Source: bortonia / Getty

Where is Equatorial Guinea located?

Equatorial Guinea is located in Central Africa bordered by Cameroon and Gabon.

World Data Locator Map, Equatorial Guinea

Source: Encyclopaedia Britannica / Getty



Facts About Equatorial Guinea:

  1. Capital: Malabo
  2. Population: 1.5 Million


What Are The Official Languages of Equatorial Guinea?

Spanish, Portuguese and French are the official languages spoken in Equatorial Guinea.

Take Us Everywhere You Go! Click Here To Download Our App 📲


What Is The Currency of Equatorial Guinea?

Central African Franc is the currency used in Equatorial Guinea.

$1 = 644.14

$20 = 12882.74

$60 = 38648.23

Get Breaking News & Exclusive Contest in Your Inbox:  


What Are The Religions of Equatorial Guinea?

In Equatorial Guinea the 2 main religions practiced are; Christianity (87%) and Islam (4%).

Tourist Attractions

Places to visit in Equatorial Guinea:

Americans are able to visit Equatorial Guinea Visa-Free. Here are a few places you should definitely visit while in this country:


I hope this information has given you more insight into Equatorial Guinea but there is so much more to learn! Visit their tourism website here to see more.

Also be sure to checkout articles on each of the 54 countries in Africa by clicking here: Countries of Africa