Listen Live
WOL Featured Video


Eritrea is pronounced “air·uh·tree·uh” and is one of the 10 countries located in East Africa. The name Eritrea derives from the Greek term Sinus Erythraeus, which means Red Sea.This country gained its independence on May 24, 1991 from Ethiopia. This country is known for having one of the oldest port cities in Africa. Continue reading below to learn more about the beautiful African country, Eritrea.

Flag of Eritrea

Source: Poligrafistka / Getty

Where is Eritrea located?

Eritrea is located in East Africa bordered by Sudan, Ethiopia and Djibouti.

World Data Locator Map, Eritrea

Source: Encyclopaedia Britannica / Getty


Facts About Eritrea:

  1. Capital: Asmara
  2. Population: 3.6 Million


What Are The Official Languages of Eritrea?

There is no official language of Eritrea but Tigrinya is the main language spoken in this country. Other languages include;

Take Us Everywhere You Go! Click Here To Download Our App 📲


What Is The Currency of Eritrea?

Currency: Nakfa (ERN) is the currency used in Eritrea.

$1 = 14.92

$20 = 298.45

$60 = 895.36


Get Breaking News & Exclusive Contest in Your Inbox:  


What Are The Religions of Eritrea?

Religion: In Eritrea the 2 main religions practiced are; Christianity (63%) and Islam (36%).

Tourist Attractions

Places to visit in Eritrea:

Is Eritrea Safe?

Eritrea is currently at a “Level 2: Exercise Increased Caution

I hope this information has given you more insight into Eritrea but there is so much more to learn! Visit their tourism website here to see more.

Also be sure to checkout articles on each of the 54 countries in Africa by clicking here: Countries of Africa